Photography~

Hi guys,

I’m super excited about this post. I’ve been wanting to share my photography story with you guys, but the timing was never right. Well, today is the day!

My interest in photography started in 2009 and my best friend was the reason. She bought her first digital camera and was talking about photography all day long for months! She made an account on Flickr and showed me lots of “artsy/concept” photos of other people. I knew it was different from the normal-vacation-out-of-focus-random photos. Some photos actually looked like paintings. It looked like art. The photographers on Flickr were her inspiration and she started taking artistic portrait photos and I was often her model. She asked me a couple of times to try it out.

At this point I wasn’t really interested in photography. It was fun to help my best friend out and the photos on Flickr were really nice. But I didn’t feel the urge to grab a camera myself and shoot some pictures. One day, my friend was setting up some stuff for a photoshoot and I was holding her camera. She told me I could take some pictures and I decided to give it a try! Without me noticing it, I was looking for small subjects and details. I started taking close up pictures of leaves, flowers and insects. I loved it and I was happy with how the pictures came out!

When I look back at it, I know the reason why photography didn’t appeal to me at first. My best friend loved taking pictures of people and herself. Her passion was concept/portrait photography. I have a passion for nature/macro photography. It took a while to discover my interest, but I’m glad it happened! From that day on I started taking pictures with my parent’s digital camera. I also made an account on Flickr. My photos didn’t get a lot of views, comments or favorites, but I didn’t mind because I liked taking pictures!

Flickr

The next thing I’m going to say is my own interpretation and I could be wrong, but after a while I got the feeling my best friend didn’t like it. Photography started to feel like a competition. It was “her” thing since she started it. So, I decided to take a break from january 2010 till august 2012.

On my 20st birthday Mantik gave me the best present ever! He gave me a Fujifilm Finepix F660. I don’t know why he bought it, because he knew I stopped taking pictures. But I was happy. I really missed taking pictures. And that day was the start of new journey! I brought my camera with me everywhere I went and I took tons of photos! My new camera had a 8gb memory card (the old one only had 256 mb memory card lol).

I put my photos on shutterfly to share it with my family and friends, but I didn’t return to Flickr. One and a half year later (14th of February 2014) I decided to visit Flickr again and I saw that my best friend wasn’t active anymore. I posted a photo I took in Barcelona and went on a date with Mantik.

That evening I saw that 28 people had liked my photo. This motivated me to get better at photography. I’m so happy I got a second chance to start over again. I can’t imagine a life without photography.

Here we are, one year later, and I’ve gotten better at photography! I went from 9 followers to 645 followers in one year. I made some great friends on Flickr and I get to learn new stuff everyday.

My best friend still doesn’t know I’m active again. I think I’m afraid to tell her.  I don’t want to make a competition out of it. How will she react? Will she be proud of me? Will she be happy for me? Hopefully we can enjoy taking pictures together again without the competition element.

Here is the url to my photostream! http://www.flickr.com/photos/kawaima_

Leave a Reply

