Pastéis de Belém – Lisbon

I was cleaning up my laptop and I found some photos of my vacation in Lisbon (2014). I totally forgot to post something about this trip. So this will be the first Lisbon post and I’m 2 years late haha!

When I say Portugal, you say…?

Pastéis de Nata!

Pastéis de Nata is THE most popular egg tart in Portugal. You literally can get it everywhere. My first encounter with this sweet treat was right after we traveled from the airport to another station. We saw a little bread shop that sells coffee, sandwhiches, desserts and of course Pastéis de Nata. We already planned to visit a famous bakery in Belém, because they sell the best Pastéis according to locals and Google. But my brother and I couldn’t wait so we bought 3 egg tarts at the station. And we were quite disappointed lol. The pastéis was too sweet and the pastry was a bit burned. We should’ve been more patient. Lesson learned haha.

Fortunately, this little incident did not break our spirit! We still wanted to visit Belém and taste the famous Pastéis de Nata. Even though I must say that my expectations were not that high anymore lol. We traveled from Lisbon to Belém by tram and you could see the queue in front of the bakery from afar! I thought it would take forever, but we only had to wait 30 minutes.

1Address: Rua de Belém 84 a.92
Hours: 8:00 am – 11:00 pm
Website: http://www.pasteisdebelem.pt/

We bought 4 egg tarts and savory pastries. They were sooo freaking niceeee. The pastry on the 2nd photo was delicious! It reminded me of a round risolles. It was stuffed with a rich and creamy chicken ragout and ofcourse the outside was crisssuuupy! We also had some prawn croquettes, spinach and cheese phyllo pastries, and Bolinhos de Bacalhau (Codfish).

2.png

And now onto the star of this post, tatadaaaam! Fullsize photo? Yes please! Let’s take a moment to appreciate it ♥

DSCF4415.JPG

The layers, LOOK AT DEM LAYERS. And the gorgeous caramelized eggy custard. This Pastéis was 101x better than the first one I ate. I always thought Pastéis de Nata was similar to the Chinese egg tart (daan thaat), but it’s quite different and they’re both delicious in their own ways!

The Portugese egg tart is served warm, straight out of the oven! The pastry is (as you can see) golden brown in color and it was super crispy. You could hear it crackling like a potato chip. The custard is sweeter and more creamy compared to the Chinese egg tart. And what I like most are the caramelized bits on top! It really brings another dimension to the egg tart. The dark brown/black bits have a slightly bitter note and it cuts the sweetness, but it also enhances the rich taste of the egg tart!

Traditionally, the egg tarts are sprinkled with cinnamon and powdered sugar. But eating it plain is also very nice! I wish I could eat it with a cup of coffee, best. combination. ever.

3.png

If you’re visiting Lisbon, you should definitely stop by Belém and try their egg tarts. And make sure to check out their website, it’s awesome!

Pastéis you later!

Leave a Reply

